Into the real world

In my first Aspirations post – showing what you’ve got – I looked at one of the reasons why I photograph, namely to show others my work. However, I also revealed how poor I am at doing this. This year, as I mentioned in my earlier post, marks the beginning of a concerted effort to improve and increase recognition of my images over a 3 year period. There is no particular magic behind 3 years – I might equally have chosen 4 or 5. Whatever the period, the point is that in setting myself a goal, I hope the aspiration will drive me forward. So, what have I done about it so far?I am now the proud owner of a new Epson R2880 printer. An expensive way to kick off the New Year and my 3 year plan. I hope, though, it will also be a fruitful one. I suspect it will take me some time to get to grips with the printing stage of photography – even the choice of paper seems overwhelming! However, this is an important step. For, until the digital image is printed, is it really a photograph? Will I understand what works – and what does not – better by looking at a real photograph that I can hold? I suspect that new light will be thrown on my work by seeing them ‘in the flesh’ so to speak. By looking carefully, I hope to appreciate better the subtleties required to make a quality image and print.

On a more practical level, I will be sending my prints into various competitions and magazine publications – another of my goals. Just how well they get on, well – time will tell. I stand a better chance though than if I never print my work, that’s for sure.

~ by paulsidle on January 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
