Published in Black and White Photography magazine!

Storm 1, originally uploaded by Paul Sidle.

In a previous post, Getting organised, I wrote about how I had decided to send off some images to Black and White Photography magazine as a first step to achieving some of my aspirations (as I wrote in Showing what you’ve got). I didn’t expect they would be published, but thought it important to be active. So, it was somewhat of an exciting surprise to learn that not only were my images to be published, but that they were the winning images in the Readers’ Pictures section for April 2010!

This is one of the images, taken at Cromer on a wet and windy stormy night at the end of 2009. The other two images can be viewed on my Flickr photostream (Storm 2 and Storm 3). If you happen to have a copy of the magazine, there is even a head shot of yours truly taken by my brother on a walking trip to Arran. I look rather disheveled…or rugged as I like to imagine.

Anyway, this just goes to show that it’s up to you sometimes to make things happen. You can’t control everything that happens to you and what you can’t control you should try not to worry about. But it does no harm to put yourself out there and give it a go. Where next?

~ by paulsidle on March 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
