Eype Rock

Eype Rock, originally uploaded by Paul Sidle.

It strikes me as slightly ironic that I waited until well after sunset to photograph this rock. The source of light may have disappeared below the horizon (back right in this image) but the afterglow was something special, as I hope you can tell. The soft pastel colours in the sky were subtle and I have resisted the temptation to give them much of a boost.

This was taken at a place called Eype which is on the Jurassic coast in Dorset. It’s a truly beautiful beach of pebbles and the water was so calm that it reflected the evening’s colours and atmosphere.

Learning what the best light is for a particular location or image is a long process. One day I’d like to think I will be competent enough at it, but for now I realise I’m still very much learning! The change light has on the landscape can be revealing and what experience will hopefully teach me is how to recognise what subject matter is best suited to the available light. I can see how this must involve returning to the same location to understand it better and to seek out that ‘perfect’ light (should it actually exist…).

I write this after having just watched the final episode of Lost, something I’ve been following for the last six years. It seems the characters finally found their light and it got me thinking, probably too many thoughts. Light, its source, its meaning, its effect – it’s all a mystery to me. Does that make me photographically lost, in some sort of limbo? How do I find the right light then? By letting go perhaps and listening more. Listening and, of course, seeing more. I’ve not considered what actually happens when you find the light…or maybe it finds you? I’ll stop to avoid the danger of writing too much more nonsense. I need to go away and think.

~ by paulsidle on May 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
