Horse play

 

Going for a walk one recent Sunday afternoon in late November, the sunlight was falling quite beautifully on this horse (and its friend, not in the shot). I thought I’d take the opportunity, since I had my camera with me for once, to take a few photos with a view to their being black and white images. I have applied a subtle split tone to emphasise the warm glow of the sun that day. It’s a little different from what I would usually photograph but I couldn’t resist.

Since the subject was being so compliant and hardly moving at all, I knelt down to take this image:

This too was converted into black and white with the same split tone effect applied. I really like the way the light reveals some of the texture of the hair on the legs. For images taken rather “on the hoof” (excuse the pun), I am pleased with how they turned out.

Sometimes, it’s good to photograph in a way you wouldn’t normally. It helps bring a new perspective on things and stops you from becoming stale.

~ by paulsidle on December 6, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
