Pen Pond at dawn

Pen Pond at dawn, originally uploaded by Paul Sidle.

I downloaded a trial of Nik Silver Efex Pro and I used it for this. It’s an impressive piece of software – almost too impressive. Does it make creating b&w images with impact too easy, I ask myself? There’s something about satisfaction that makes it greater the harder it is too achieve…but maybe that’s just the sadist in me! I do find myself questioning though – who really is the artist when so much of the final image is created by advanced software at the click of a button? Did “I” really create this? Maybe I’ll take the credit (or flak) for now…but will there come a time when it becomes harder to do so? Is this something I need to worry myself with or am I being overly precious? Surely I don’t need to set myself unnecessary hurdles – or do I?

With photography as with most endeavours, I always feel that the more you put in, the more you get out. The temptations and distractions of automation are there in abundance – they may produce the results objectively, but what about subjectively? Do they limit personal growth? An open question if anyone cares to give me their thoughts on the matter…

Pen Pond in Richmond Park one frosty morning, 0.6 ND Grad over the sky.

~ by paulsidle on April 13, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
