At sea

At sea, originally uploaded by Paul Sidle.

This image was taken while on holiday down in Devon. I took this at a place called Little Dartmouth on top of the cliffs while carrying my son on my back (having my hair pulled) and hand holding my camera with a 3 stop ND grad to balance the sky. What struck me was the intensity of the small white clouds and the puddle of sunlight on the sea. There is a small boat almost in the centre of the frame and I wonder what those on it must have felt like. Although it wasn’t raining on the coast, it appeared to be so on the horizon.

It’s been a while since I’ve been able to get outside and photograph – partly out of lack of time and partly out of convincing myself that there was no point trying to photograph landscapes with my 50mm (currently my only lens!). Of course, I was wrong and the break was a good lesson in perseverance in photography and not to confine oneself with arbitrary restrictions.

The black and white conversion was made using Lightroom 3 with some very minor local contrast adjustments in Photoshop.

~ by paulsidle on July 6, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
