Door chain



Door chain, originally uploaded by Paul Sidle.

The more time I spend with my 50mm lens – currently my only lens in fact, so it is a somewhat forced, albeit happy, acquaintance – the more I learn to appreciate the everyday details around me which, in the right light, reveal their beauty and character. This photo was quickly seen and quickly composed – benefits of my 16 month old son perched on my back eager to get moving – yet is a current favourite of mine. Simple and uncontrived. The black and white brings out the texture in the wood and metal. If I’d seen this a year ago, I’d probably have just walked on past. That’s what photography can do for you – you start to see more and spend more time looking: at things without and those within.

~ by paulsidle on February 13, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
