London 2012

I was lucky enough, thanks to a friend, to attend the final Athletics session of the wonderful London 2012 Olympics. If you didn’t get the chance to visit the venues, the Olympic Park or stand in the crowds thronging the streets cheering on the competitors, the atmosphere was magical and I can’t recall anything like it. I’m not one prone to feelings of national pride, but I felt proud to be British this summer. Those who competed, those who volunteered and those who watched all came together to produce, biased though of course I am, the best Olympics in my memory. I won’t forget the noise and the roar of the crowd in the stadium that night as Mo Farah ran home to gold in the 5000m. At its best, sport can unite and that evening, we were one. These are my Olympic images.











~ by paulsidle on August 15, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
